The A-League uses the IFAB interpretation as was explained at the beginning of the season to every player and coach. Their take and what was explained at the beginning of the season
So should a penalty be given every time the ball hits a player's hand in the area?
There is an exemption if the ball hits a player's arm directly from the player's own head or body
Strebre's take -
It’s important to come out and people to understand where we’re coming from - we got it wrong, we made an error and we’re human,” he said.
“We’ll coach the referees through that and we want to see the improvement there. Apart from one or two decisions this year, we’ve been good.”
Delovski said referee Adam Fielding was wrong to call the first penalty, because Mauk initiated contact with Central Coast defender Ruon Tongyik while contesting the ball.
Kurt Ams, the video assistant referee, was also wrong to not call Fielding to the sideline for a review of the decision.
“The defender has done nothing wrong, he just stands there, and the Adelaide attacker is the one that initiates the contact,” Delovski said. “We are coaching our [VAR] guys to keep a high bar of level of intervention ... but the VAR has interpreted it incorrectly.”
Fielding should also not have blown for the second penalty, Delovski said. Josh Nisbet was pinged for dragging down Mauk with his arm - but because both players were holding each other, the VAR was right to not step in.
“It would have been better if we played on,” he said. “From a VAR point of view ... there is holding from both players, including the Central Coast player, this is normal contact, so those are the facts and those facts are not clearly wrong.”
As for the third penalty, which gave Adelaide the lead in the 85th minute after a VAR intervention, the decision to ping Kye Rowles for handball was correct and in line with the current interpretation of the rule because the ball deflected onto his hand, which was in an “unnatural position”, Delovski said.