The University Thread.

The University Thread.

Author
Fredsta
Legend
Legend (14K reputation)Legend (14K reputation)Legend (14K reputation)Legend (14K reputation)Legend (14K reputation)Legend (14K reputation)Legend (14K reputation)Legend (14K reputation)Legend (14K reputation)Legend (14K reputation)Legend (14K reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Bonkers wrote:
Arts at University of Melbourne will probably be my top preference next year.

See you there, although I'm not going to defer. Looking at doing Arts and majoring in Creative Writing or Media and Communications
da640
da640
Amateur
Amateur (696 reputation)Amateur (696 reputation)Amateur (696 reputation)Amateur (696 reputation)Amateur (696 reputation)Amateur (696 reputation)Amateur (696 reputation)Amateur (696 reputation)Amateur (696 reputation)Amateur (696 reputation)Amateur (696 reputation)

dale1878 wrote:
I'm studying at University of Wollongong, in my first year of a Bachelor of Journalism, possibly becoming a double with B. International Studies later on.

CCM4LIFE wrote:
No idea what I want to do. Tossing up between BA (Media & Communications) @ Usyd, Arts/Law @ Usyd, Arts/Commerce @ Usyd, Journalism/Law @ UTS.

I actually don't know if I want to do journalism, law, marketing... Tbh I'd just love to be a football journalist but that's probably not going to happen.

If you want a tip: take a B. Journalism ahead of BA (M&Comm).
Journalism courses are about teaching you how to write, as opposed to teaching you all this theory waffle. At UOW, you can take most BCM classes as Philosophy classes (BCM106=PHIL106, etc) because they're all "media philosophy" etc. Jour is more dedicated to getting out there and writing real stories about your town, as opposed to looking at how other stories are constructed.

On the flipside, marketing is really interesting. Some of the stuff they get to watch... =d>